Fairhaven and some New England Architecture

Fairhaven, MA
Fairhaven, MA

I recently turned in my notice at the hospital where I worked and Sunday I came to Fairhaven, Massachusetts where I’ll be consulting for the next four months as a credentialed trainer for a medical record software program – Epic.

Upon arriving Sunday, I decided to take a walk and go grab dinner at a restaurant that I’d seen on TripAdvisor known for having some of the best seafood in the area (I’m a huge seafood fan!).

Ocean Wharf
Ocean Wharf

I was stunned at the beautiful, colonial, New England architecture!  It’s also extremely beautiful because I’m not accustomed to being on the waterfront and having the fishing culture around me.  Seeing the words ‘wharf’, ‘bay’, and ‘cape’ at every corner is pretty neat.

The town is right off of the Cape Cod area and not far from Martha’s Vineyard, Nantucket, or Rhode Island – in fact, I flew into Providence and drove 30 minutes

Fairhaven Town Hall
Fairhaven Town Hall

to Fairhaven.  See my later posts about more of Fairhaven’s history and their involvement in the American Revolution and settlement of our nation.

Tax Collector
Tax Collector

For now, as an introductory post about Fairhaven, I want to show some of Fairhaven’s architecture and town hall.  It’s nearly out of a movie!  I absolutely love the door that says “Tax Collector”.  I’m sure it is still the office of the tax collector to this very day even though the building is hundreds of years old.

Fairhaven Town Hall
Fairhaven Town Hall

The beautiful town of Fairhaven, although it seems large because it touches the

surrounding towns without signs of borders nearly, is only 15,000 people.  It was settled in 1659 but was not an established, independent town until 1812.  Pilgrims settled here, people!  This is part of our nation’s history!

Buzzards Bay
Buzzards Bay

The stunning historic buildings are literally steps away from Buzzards Bay.  Fishing boats galore!  Thank goodness for these large and mighty vessels – I can’t get too much seafood here!  Without having to ship the seafood anywhere, I am constantly in shock at how cheap a good seafood dinner is!  That being said, check out my future posts on seafood dinners but also on what I “cook” in a hotel room because, well, I’ll be living in one for the next four months.

More history, architecture, and food adventures follow!

One thought on “Fairhaven and some New England Architecture

Leave a comment